Skip to content

Culture War

11/15/2011

I’ve had this extra song from Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs on repeat lately. The lyrics have really been speaking to me, seem very poignant and true with a point to be made.

Internet Monk had an interesting article up recently, When Chrisians Won the Culture War. Perhaps the combination of the two have got me thinking. Christians have fought for some interesting things in the past, to mixed results. And for what? I’ve heard some claim that Christian efforts in politics “bought time” for people to repent, which I guess makes sense if you subscribe to certain strains of premillenniumism.

Looking at it from a higher perspective, I don’t see that most culture wars accomplished anything. Look at the statistics. Churches and denominations are in decline, there is mass exodus from the church, and more and more young people are checking out and not engaging with the faith of their parents. Arguably, they aren’t even engaging with the true faith, just how that faith shows up in the form of social and political activism. No wonder so many are disenchanted.

Personally I think it’s time for the culture wars to end. Christians have a responsibility to be involved in politics and vote as they are led by the Word and the Spirit, but increasingly that becomes twisted. When I hear Christians getting heavily militant and political nowadays, I just tune out and regret the gospel is getting lost. It’s tough to believe in a faith, a Christianity, when so many radically erroneous versions of it are out there. I’ll continue to pray for wisdom for the leaders out there.

As always, this is not a forum for discussion or a place for others to critique my views. Merely add your comments and I’ll be sure to shrug.

Now the future’s staring at me
Like a vision from the past
And I know these crumbs they sold me
They’re never going to last

Though we know the culture war
We don’t know what it’s for
But we’ve lived a southern strategy
But no, it’s never going to last
So keep it in the past

These are different times that we’re living in
These are different times
Now the kids are growing up so fast
They’re paying for our crimes

You left while I was sleeping
You said it’s damning
Oh, I’ve read a little Bible
You see what you want to see

Oh, we know the culture war
We don’t know what it’s for
But we’ve lived your southern strategy
We know it’s never going to last
So keep that shit in the past

These are different times that we’re living in
Because these are different times
Now the kids are growing up so fast
They’re paying for our crimes

These are different times that we’re living in
These are different times
Now the kids are growing up so fast
They’re paying for our crimes

The dominos, they never fell
Our bodies they still burn
I throw my hand into the fire
But still I never learn
Will I ever learn?

These are different times
Now the kids are growing up so fast
Paying for our crimes

We’ll be soldiers for mommy and dad
In your culture wars

We’ll be soldiers for mommy and dad
Don’t know what it’s for

We’re soldiers now
In the culture war

We’re soldiers now
But we don’t know what it’s for

We’re soldiers now
In the culture war

We’re soldiers now
But we don’t know what it’s for

So tell me, what’s it for?

You want it? You got it
Here’s your culture war

You want it, now you got it
So tell me, what’s it for?

You want it? You got it
Here’s your culture war

You want it, now you got it
So tell me what’s it for?

Yeah tell me, what’s it for?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

