Skip to content

Music Monday – Video Game Music, Part 2

10/17/2011

Kinda feels like a cheat to do a Music Monday after doing that Jack White covering U2 post. But music monday, as a concept, is important to me. The last few years of college, music monday was my break from intense theological scrutiny. I was listening to three or four podcasts a day, reading a book or two a week, and spending at least an hour each day in study and who knows how many hours in prayer. Music Monday was my chance to…detach for a moment, and enjoy myself. I would listen to nothing but music during that day, avoiding any theological thoughts or discussions.

When I started this #PostADay2011 blog, which has hardly been a post a day, sadly, I suppose I wanted to keep the Music Monday tradition alive, at least so I knew what the content would be for one day of each week. Yet music is such a big part of my life that even non-mondays become music mondays. I’ve noticed that since I no longer write as much for my job, I don’t write as much on the blog as well. The more I write, the more I write, and the less I write, the less I write, it seems. Kinda silly, to put it that way.

Anyways, I hope to write more. But since today is monday, and I’ve already got enough weighty subjects on my mind, let’s enjoy ourselves some.

I’ve finally picked Borderlands up again. Yes, I still think it’s a fitting game for some Christians to play, despite it being violent. (Especially because violence alone does not mean something is not worth consuming for a Christian, or not edifying, or whatever…). Anyways, I’ve installed the DLC that came with the Game of the Year edition of Borderlands, and after playing through the Zombie Island of Dr. Zed, I’ve started playing Mad Moxxi’s Underdome, which is essentially a huge arena you fight in, wading through waves of enemies and bosses. It’s very, very tough so far, plus you are fighting through five waves in three stages at a time, which could take half an hour or more. Very intense.

The best part so far about Mad Moxxi’s Underdome is the music. Her theme is this pounding techno thing that reminds me of some of the music from The Matrix or Tron Legacy. It really gets the adrenaline going and keeps you in the game.

Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars will always be in my top 5 favorite videogames of all time. Part of this is due to the music. There is a creativity to the themes that has been missing from Mario games ever since. The game itself is a fun mixture of classic JRPG style fights, in-game sight gags, an interesting and original story, and a decent enough length to leave you feeling satisfied while still wanting more (which has never truly come from Nintendo or the creators of the game).

One of the original characters in Super Mario RPG, Booster, is responsible for holding Princess Peach hostage in his tower. She literally fell into his lap, and it was love at first sight. Your job as Mario is to rescue her and thwart the wedding. Wandering Booster’s tower, you can tell he is delightfully mad, which makes him utterly hysterical. The music accompanying his main level, Booster’s Tower, is one of my favorites in the game.

Just for fun, here’s some gameplay video of Super Mario RPG

Switching genres, Halo 2 may arguably by my favorite in the series, in large part due to the memories of the game, the music, and my friends. It was several leagues better than the original game, with a great story and in my mind an awesome ending that set up Halo 3 perfectly. I bought the original soundtrack when it came out, and many of the songs are still favorites. Plus, my friends and I used to bring over a couple of Xboxs to my house, and using two or three TVs, would play 8-12 player multiplayer for hours a few times each week. Community college was a wonderful time, despite it setting me back professionally. But, look on the bright side of things…

This song wasn’t in the game but was inspired by Halo 2.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

