Skip to content

Jack White Covers U2 – Love Is Blindness

10/15/2011

Cut my finger while helping out at a wedding today, so I’m finger typing right now. Dumb bandage.

Anyways, it’s not a Music Monday, but I gotta post this awesome Jack White cover of Love is Blindness. There is a lot of passion here, and of course Jack’s amazing guitar work. But I think it’s lacking the deep emotion Bono’s voice brings to the song, and of course the pain and agony and tears behind Edge’s guitar playing. But Jack…Jack still makes this song special.

For comparison, here is what I consider the definitive version of this song, live from Rotterdam during ZooTV. You can almost hear the anguish coming through Edge’s finger tips.

Allegedly, in the album version, you can hear Edge break strings and keep playing, but I’ve never noticed it…

Here’s the lyrics –

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night around me
Take my heart
Love is blindness

In a parked car in a crowded street
You see your love made complete
Thread is ripping
The knot is slipping
Love is blindness

Love is clockworks and cold steel
Fingers too numb to feel
Squeeze the handle
Blow out the candle
Love is blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night around me
Oh, my love
Blindness

A little death without mourning
No call and no warning
Baby, a dangerous idea that almost makes sense

Love is drowning in a deep well
All the secrets and no one to tell
Take the money, honey
Blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night around me
Oh, my love
Blindness

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jakeblues permalink
    10/15/2011 9:57 pm

    Really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

