Skip to content

What I’m Reading – Early Summer Edition

06/22/2011

I think it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these “what I’m reading” updates, so nows as good a time as any.

Obviously I’m still reading Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology, so let’s just skip that one for right now.

The Stand by Stephen King

The Stand by Stephen King

The Stand by Stephen King. I think I’ve determined that I’ll read at least one Stephen King book per year. He’s just that good of a storyteller. After reading through The Dark Tower series in college, and then reading Insomnia last summer, I wanted another long Stephen King book to work through. The Stand contains elements that link to the Dark Tower series, so I’m enjoying seeing how the two are intertwined. The storyline itself is pretty great. I’m about halfway through it right now, but it’s answered nearly every question I have about what life in America would be like if a deadly strain of the flu spread throughout the country.

I should also point out that I’m reading the longer, uncut expanded “director’s edit” version of The Stand. According to the foreword, it’s basically the same version plus a huge chunk of text in the middle that adds to the story but doesn’t radically change the original plot or book. Either way, the book is freaking huge, easily around 1200 pages…

Eats, Shoots and Leaves

Eats, Shoots and Leaves

Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation by Lynne Truss. Recommended by a former classmate and friend of mine, this is probably the nerdiest book I’m reading currently, but I can’t help but enjoy it. Grammar, spelling, and especially punctuation matter, and while I know I may screw up on occassion on this blog, I try to strive by the rules the best I can care to in the moment. Here’s a synopsis explaining the title:

A panda walks into a café. He orders a sandwich, eats it, then draws a gun and proceeds to fire it at the other patrons.

‘Why?’ asks the confused, surviving waiter amidst the carnage, as the panda makes towards the exit. The panda produces a badly punctuated wildlife manual and tosses it over his shoulder.

‘Well, I’m a panda,’ he says, at the door. ‘Look it up.’

The waiter turns to the relevant entry in the manual and, sure enough, finds an explanation. ‘Panda. Large black-and-white bear-like mammal, native to China. Eats, shoots and leaves.’

Brilliant, and many thanks to my friend for recommending it to me!

Kitchen Confidential

Kitchen Confidential

Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly by Anthony Bourdain. Yeah, Anthony Bourdain can be a bit of a jackass at times, but he’s still entertaining and humorous. I’ve been watching a lot of his show No Reservations on Netflix and enjoying it, so I figured I’d pick up his book and give it a shot. I’m not super far into it, but his trademark wit and humor are coming through loud and clear, and I think I’m actually becoming a better cook just by reading the book!

I’m also thumbing through an old copy of Walking the Bible by Bruce Feiler that I had lying around, but don’t know how closely I will read it. Interesting to read his descriptions of the Middle East, though.

So that’s pretty much what I’m reading right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/23/2011 9:47 pm

    Anthony Bourdain’s book is an interesting look at the restaurant business from the other side, if you can wade through the all of the language and such. Makes one think twice about the food that they eat when they are out.

Leave a Reply

