Skip to content

Music Monday – Rock Mix 2011

06/20/2011

Since high school, I’ve periodically made “STU2 Rock Mixes” for my friends. At one point, I had upwards of 40 people wanting a copy of my compilations. Nowadays it’s just down to me and a few close friends, which is just fine. I made ten of the mixes before doing some massive 3 disc set for the 10th mix (“Heaven”, “Hell”, and “Others”, and they weren’t that bad), sequentially numbered, at which point I sorta grew out of it for a while. A year or two ago I started just doing year based discs, and so now it’s time for STU2 Rock Mix 2011.

I tend to obsess over music and especially these cds. For instance, I’ve gone through 4 other rough drafts of this particular mix cd, and I even gave one out to a friend thinking it was done before realizing a day or two later that I didn’t like one or two of the songs enough. So, I need to steal that cd from him and replace it with the proper one.

Music is one of my passions in life. If I could play an instrument, it’s all I would do with my time. My dream job is still to work at a radio station and play music and combinations of music for people. Unfortunately, radio doesn’t pay all that well, in fact pretty terribly. Plus most radio is now dead, and what remains is heavily programmed, which sucks. Thank God for the Current, even if they are a little too hipsterish for their own good.

So here’s STU2 Rock Mix 2011. Hope it’s a good mix. (And this time it’s official!)(I hope I’m still happy with this mix in a week…new music has not been that great this past year, especially music I can share with friends who don’t already have it, so no new Foo Fighters, for instance.)

1 – Kaiser Chiefs – Little Shocks
2 – Spoon – Got Nuffin
3 – Men, Women, and Children – Messy
4 – The Heavy – How You Like Me Now
5 – The Black Keys – So He Won’t Break
6 – Godsmack – Voodoo Too
7 – Marilyn Manson – Putting Holes in Happiness
8 – Arcade Fire – Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)
9 – Weezer – The Greatest Man That Ever Lived
10 – Malcolm Middleton – A Brighter Beat
11 – Eels – Fresh Blood
12 – Sick Puppies – You’re Going Down
13 – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Weapon of Choice
14 – Malachai – Snowflake
15 – Muse – Plug In Baby
16 – Bob Sinclair – Tennessee
17 – Nine Inch Nails – Where Is Everybody
18 – Linkin Park – Wenches and Kings
19 – Fujiya and Miyagi – Sixteen Shades of Black and Blue

Odds are I may do a B-sides album around Halloween or so, many of the tracks I cut have that dark autumn vibe…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

