Skip to content

Day 4 of E3

06/09/2011

The more I look at the Nintendo Wii-U, the more I don’t get it and become a little more dead inside. Seriously, Nintendo? The most recent story I’ve read said the Wii-U can only support one “wii-pad” at this time. That’ll obviously change, as I’m sure some design changes and name changes can still occur between now and launch in 2012, but c’mon. Why not just wait til next year to truly show it off? Unless E3 was just to let all the developers know that you have a new console coming out with a new controller that they will have absolutely no idea how to build games for…

Anyways…Yesterday I looked at all the new Xbox 360 games coming out. In the interest of saving time, and since I think technically today is/was the last day of E3, I’m going to combine my thoughts on all the other platforms into one post.

For a complete list of games being shown at E3, I recommend the E3 game list at IGN.

Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo Wii and “Wii-U”

I’ve blogged previously that I own a GameBoy Advance SP, and I frequently borrow my brothers Nintendo DS. I’m happy to say that in a week or so, Nintendo will be cutting the price of the DS Lite down to $99, so I may actually buy my own. I’ve no interest in getting a DSi or a DSiXL or whatever, and I’m not willing to pay $300 for the Nintendo 3DS just yet, especially when no truly interesting games are out for it, so it looks like I’ll be gaming on a budget and retro gaming for a while to come. But I am really looking forward to the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time remake on the Nintendo 3DS, just because of my love for the source material. Depending on how the 3D is implemented, the new Super Mario 3DS game should be interesting as well, and of course anything Mario Kart will be worth playing. And I’m cautiously curious about this just announced Smash Bros game for the 3DS…that could be…interesting.

Is it sad that there aren’t any third party 3DS games I’m interested in? Platform must be too new or something…

As for Nintendo Wii games…yeah, the new Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword looks interesting, but that’s about it. Just as with the GameCube, I think they are gonna end another Nintendo console on a Zelda game. Which is ironic, since one of the first games for the Nintendo Wii was a Zelda game, and specifically, a GameCube Zelda game that was held up a year. Ah, memories…

Sony Playstation 3

Again, I hope to own a Playstation 3 sometime in the next year and a half. I’m waiting til I have a better TV before I buy one, besides the whole waiting on finances and the full time job thing. So at this point, there is already a good dozen or so exclusive games to the PS3 that I’m looking forward to playing. But after this E3, you can add to the list games such as: Dark Souls, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, The Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection, Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception, and Starhawk. Starhawk in particular left a strong impression on me, based on almost entirely on the cinematic trailer they showed:

And sadly, there are no PC games I’m really looking forward to that have been covered at E3. When it comes to PC, I’m more interested in retro games on GoG and Steam…

So that’s E3 2011! Lots happened, much was revealed. Overall, I’d say my Game of Show was Bioshock: Infinite, but we knew that ahead of time. I think Sony may have had the best press conference as well, what with the cool looking Playstation Vita (PSV) and just a solid lineup of games. Although EA gave them a run for their money…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

