Skip to content

Day 3 of E3

06/08/2011

Xbox 360

Xbox 360

Ok, since all the major surprises and announcements are out of the way, let’s talk about the games!

A confession up front – progressively, I’ve become less interested in some of the games that are coming out in the industry. As I’ve grown older, perhaps my tastes have changed or just my playing habits and patterns have changed, but I’m excited about less and less, yet more excited about those things I do get excited about. So while I may have fun playing with some of the big name titles like Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 that are coming out, in the long run I will remember other, lesser games as being more memorable. So, while it’s still my dream of going to E3, maybe I’m just experiencing sequel fatigue like Adam Sessler and others have been talking about.

For a complete list of games being shown at E3, I recommend the E3 game list at IGN.

Xbox 360

The Xbox 360 has become my primary gaming platform in recent years, although I still have time for PC gaming and handheld. Hopefully in the next year I’ll be able to replace my Xbox 360, as my late 2007 unit is slowly not wanting to work with many disc read errors, plus the 20 gig harddrive is basically full, and I’m growing tired of shuffling data around just to fit in stuff. I wouldn’t be surprised if in the next year Microsoft does another $50 price cut on one of the units, making it even more affordable.

I’ve already talked about my anticipation for Battlefield 3, slight interest in Modern Warfare 3, gleeful childish joy about Batman: Arkham City, and rabid excitement for Bioshock: Infinite. But what else does the Xbox 360 have to offer this coming year? Rage, a game developed by the creators of Doom and Quake, looks to have that nice mix of apocalyptic alien world building that I’ve enjoyed in similar games like Fallout 3 and Borderlands. Gears of War 3 will be a fun co-op game when it finally comes out after having been delayed quite a while (to polish it, the game was essentially done). When a friend of mine received his Xbox 360 in 2006 from an ex-girlfriend, I bought him the original Gears of War as a Christmas gift, and ever since then, him and I have sat on a couch together and played through each Gears of War campaign together. Looking forward to a third installment.

Now, the new Tomb Raider looks interesting. It looks like one of those games all my friends will despise but I will find some secret joy in, similar to a Prince of Persia or Saboteur game. I really enjoyed Tomb Raider: Legacy, tried to get into Tomb Raider: Anniversary but somehow couldn’t, and haven’t had a chance to play Tomb Raider: Underworld yet. This new one looks like a complete series reboot and more similar to Uncharted than Indiana Jones, and that may be a good thing this time around. Anyways, if the opening cinematic is any indication, this game will be amazing.

Games I’m curious about playing but will wait to see if they are any good: Green Lantern (I love the source material, unsure about the movie or game tie-in), Lego Harry Potter Years 5-7 (ok, I know it will be good, but I’m not paying full price for a Lego game), The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings (I really want to play the original Witcher first), XCOM (looks nothing like the original, but looks interesting enough to add to my B-games list), Metro: Last Light (the game Zachary Levi named best of show, but I need to play the original first), and Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (still don’t feel done with Oblivion, but close).

And of course, there is Assassin’s Creed: Revelations and Mass Effect 3. So pumped for both!

Here is some in-game footage from Bioshock: Infinite. I have nothing but good things to say about Bioshock 1 and 2, and am constantly trying to get my friends to play them, and this new one looks to be just as memorable as the first two, especially because it’s behind the original Bioshock team (Bioshock 2 was another studio, but they still did a stunning job).

Ok, so that’s the Xbox 360. Tomorrow, I’ll look at the games coming out for another system.

And by the way, I’m always willing to accept donations for a new Xbox 360 or a new TV; both are on their last legs. I’m thinking one of the newer Xbox 360 slims would be great, as well as some 46″ LED TV with a minimum 120 mhz refresh rate.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

