Skip to content

Happy Easter, Everyone!

04/24/2011

Easter came late this year, didn’t it?

I wrote a blog post about Easter but then decided to delete it. No one needs my cynicism about American Christianity today of all days. Instead, let’s each rejoice in the fact that He is Risen.

Easter is the day the Church has set aside to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Is this a true, verifiable historical event? Depending on if your base assumption is a “yes” or a “no”, then no amount of evidence will either prove or disprove this event. To me, the evidence is overwhelmingly in favor of the resurrection of Jesus Christ being an actual historical event, one not seen before in the world, nor one that will be seen ever again.

Easter, to me and other Christians, is proof that we serve someone other than just another man; we serve the actual Creator God. A God who defeated Satan and the grave, after willingly allowing himself to be put to death by our hands. Who took away the sin of the whole world, and makes restitution for us all. Who suffered the wrath we all deserve, and in return, gives us eternal life. A God whose name is Yahweh, and who is best known in human form as Jesus Christ, a real man, with real feelings, real emotions, real pains and sorrows, real joys and triumphs, and a real big sense of humor (see: Zombie Jesus comments).

I’ve never truly doubted the existence of God. Nor the existence of Jesus or the resurrection of the dead. Makes perfect sense to me. But beyond the logic, faith takes over. And I’ve put my faith in the risen Savior.

Here is one of my favorite hymns, especially around Easter time. The song is by Alfred Ackley, and is called “He Lives”, but most people know it as “I Serve A Risen Savior”. I don’t talk often on this blog about my appreciate for older Christian songs and hymns. My ideal worship service would include a mix of old and new, spoken and sung, liturgical and spontaneous, and I’d hope that a hymn like this could fit in in any service anywhere. (Ignore the Keswick influences in the lyrics, it’s still pretty solid.)

This YouTube version is pretty good, and makes me wish Johnny Cash had recorded this song.

Stanza 1:

I serve a risen Saviour; He’s in the world today.
I know that He is living, whatever men may say.
I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer,
And just the time I need Him He’s always near.

Chorus:

He lives! He lives! Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way.
He lives! He lives! Salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives? He lives within my heart.

Stanza 2:

In all the world around me I see His loving care,
And though my heart grows weary I never will despair.
I know that He is leading, thro’ all the stormy blast;
The day of His appearing will come at last.

Chorus:

Stanza 3:

Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian! Lift up your voice and sing
Eternal hallelujahs to Jesus Christ, the King!
The Hope of all who seek Him, the Help of all who find,
None other is so loving, so good and kind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

