Skip to content

What Am I Reading Right Now – March/April Edition

04/08/2011

Not sure when I last did a What Am I Reading Right Now post, but this one counts for most of March and April.

Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem

Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem

Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem. Obviously I’m reading through Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology and blogging as I go through it. It’s a good book, and it’s funny when my family act dumbfounded that I just read it through as I would a normal book. I probably only read a chapter or two every week, but it’s been a fascinating study so far.

 

 

 

 

 

Crazy Love by Francis Chan

Crazy Love by Francis Chan

Crazy Love by Francis Chan. For one of my Bible studies the guys agreed to read through Francis Chan’s Crazy Love, and since I missed the first few weeks of the new book due to wedding and other commitments, I’ve been spending a lot of time catching up with the book. I’m still not sure what to make of Francis Chan. I’ve seen some of his videos, and obviously I’m reading Crazy Love, but for the most part he feels like the next “big thing” in Christianity, and I’m distrustful of that. His story about how God led him away from his church in order to minister is noble…but just how massive of a publicity thing it was rubs me the wrong way. So far Crazy Love has been an interesting book, but nothing that any youth minister at a youth camp hasn’t said before. It’s your typical “give your all, why aren’t we all giving our all?” rhetoric. I just finished the chapter where he lists all the things “nominal” Christians do instead of what they should be doing, and sure, on the surface I’m convicted and prayed about it, but it’s really just surface. It’s nothing I haven’t heard before, and is extremely one-sided and sorta manipulative. Still, everyone has been raving about Francis Chan’s Crazy Love, and while that is normally a huge warning sign, I’m willing to finish it and give it a chance.

Soul Revolution by John Burke

Soul Revolution by John Burke

Soul Revolution by John Burke. Because my parents work for a seminary that owns a radio station, occasionally they will bring books home that were review copies that no one longer wants. I’m fairly positive this was one of them, and one that I was somewhat interested in reading eventually instead of selling secondhand. So even though this book came out in 2008, I’ve had it sitting on the shelf for a while. I’m only about a chapter in to it, and it contains even more rhetoric that could possible be bogus (“All other books offer some guide to strengthen your spiritual life, and we realize just how dumb those are. So, that said, follow this guide to strengthen your spiritual life!”). Yet what I’ve read has been interesting in that post-modern, semi-Emergent style that is becoming popular. I don’t know if I’ll experience a soul revolution reading John Burke’s book, but at most I’ll be entertained and better equipped to speak about the book and the topics presented within it.

Speaking of Emergent people, I almost picked up Love Wins by Rob Bell, but after seeing the price tag – highway robbery, that small of a book at $22! – I muttered a quick “farewell, Rob Bell” and walked out of the store. I’ll still read it, but I ain’t paying that much for such a small overpriced hardcover.

By Heresies Distressed by David Weber

By Heresies Distressed by David Weber

By Heresies Distressed by David Weber. David Weber has been one of my favorite authors for quite a long time. His Honor Harrington series has been a “Must Buy” series since high school, and I’ve successfully introduced the series to both my mom and youngest brother, and I think my mom has read the books multiple times. The Honor Harrington series is best described as Horatio Hornblower in space and with Horatio being a chick. It’s navel and political military science fiction with just a tad bit of soap opera. The characters are amazing, the heroes are flawed and get hurt quite often, characters will be introduced and killed off…it’s really well. David Weber has created an amazing series. One of his other series, the Safehold series, is where By Heresies Distressed fits in. It’s the third book in the series, and the series can best be described as more naval combat, futuristic, but also ancient. Imagine if Horatio Hornblower was actually a robot from an advanced civilization living in the 1500s. Yeah, David Weber has a Horatio Hornblower thing, and the books tend to follow a similar, predictable pattern where you need to get over the hump of the initial 200 pages, but then the book just breezes by. David Weber’s books are safe and familiar for me, and I enjoy them like catching up with an old friend.

So that’s pretty much what I’m reading…little of this, little of that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

