Skip to content

Music Monday – Foo Fighters – Rope

03/14/2011

I’m actually really looking forward to the new Foo Fighters album. Which is surprising.

I think I was first introduced to the Foo Fighters while listening to the radio during my paper route in Green Bay. At that time “Learn To Fly” was a very popular song on the radio, and “Stacked Actors” was receiving some radio airplay on the hard rock station. Both songs helped ground an idea of rock and particularly rock guitar in my mind that still sticks today, a specific sound that really good rock music has.

Probably the first full album by the Foo Fighters that I owned was The Colour and the Shape, which a friend gave to me as a gift. Pretty certain I picked up the Foo Fighters debut album around this time too. Foo Fighters’ One By One album came out when I was in high school, and is still easily one of my favorite albums of all time. But after One By One, I lost a lot of interest in the band. They went from playing this high octane guitar driven rock, with a few catchy ballads inbetween, into playing nothing but ballads that weren’t even very catchy. In my mind, they went soft. In Your Honor had a few good songs, as did Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, but overall I just didn’t think they were that great of albums. The production had changed, the band had matured, and they seemed to be focused on doing creative things simply for the sake of being creative. I realize many people loved these albums, and probably hated anything that came before, and I won’t try to take that away from them. These two albums just didn’t gel with me, especially in light of earlier material.

With this new album, hopefully, they’ve learned their lessons from the last 8 years or so, especially if the first single, “Rope”, is any indication. It feels like a return to form, similar to what many people said about U2’s All That You Can’t Leave Behind in 2000. If so, I’m looking forward to once again being a Foo Fighters fan.

Leave a Reply

