Skip to content

New Blog Series! Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem

03/10/2011
My dad is unamused.

Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem

There is no man who has all the answers. There is no one person or theological movement that has a monopoly on truth.

That said, let’s all study Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem and find out what the Bible REALLY says!

Since I’ve been struggling somewhat with interesting things to write about since the conclusion of my Harry Potter series, I’ve decided to blog through my new copy of Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem. This will be the first systematic theology book I’ve read through, and I’m looking forward to reading through the book. It comes highly recommended by a number of pastors and theologians that I enjoy, as well as a couple friends locally.

From Wikipedia:

Wayne A. Grudem (born 1948) is a Protestant theologian and author.

Grudem holds a BA from Harvard University, a Master of Divinity from Westminster Theological Seminary, and a PhD from the University of Cambridge. In 2001, Grudem became Research Professor of Theology and Biblical Studies at Phoenix Seminary. Prior to that, he had taught for 20 years at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, where he was chairman of the department of Biblical and Systematic Theology[1].

Grudem served on the committee overseeing the English Standard Version translation of the Bible, and from 2005 to 2008 he served as General Editor for the 2.1 million-word ESV Study Bible (which was named “2009 Christian Book of the Year” by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association). In 1999 he was the president of the Evangelical Theological Society[1]. He is a co-founder and past president of the Council on Biblical Manhood and Womanhood[1]. He is the author of, among other books, Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine, which advocates a Calvinistic soteriology, the verbal plenary inspiration and inerrancy of the Bible, the body-soul dichotomy in the nature of man, and the complementarian view of gender relationships. Grudem also edited (with John Piper) Recovering Biblical Manhood and Womanhood (which was named “Book of the Year” by Christianity Today in 1992). Zondervan released his new book, Politics According to the Bible on September 23, 2010.[2]

Grudem holds to noncessationist Charismatic beliefs and was at one time a qualified supporter of the Vineyard Movement and one of the main apologists and spokesmen for reuniting Charismatic, Reformed, and Evangelical churches.

Grudem’s son Elliot is Network Coordinator for the Acts 29 church network.

Of all the theological systems out there, I’m probably most attracted to the Reformed Charismatic position. I have my reservations about the position though, as there seems to be few who are honest and committed to both without error or heresy. I know there are charismatics who fight against the charismaniacs and Third Wave movement. I also know there are Reformed people who blindly follow tradition and have a purely mind(less) based Christianity. You need a balance.

So I guess this is my new blog series. I’ll come up with some snappy title for it, but we are reading through Systematic Theology by Wayne Grudem.

If you are serious about knowing Christian faith and doctrine and theology, the study of who God is, join me in this blog series. Or even pick up a copy and read along as well. After all, doctrine determines identity. And theology determines practice. What you think and know about God determines everything.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/11/2011 10:06 am

    I got a copy of this Systematic Theology. I’ll try to follow along. Grudem writes in a simple and easy fashion. It’s often a very enjoyable read. I’ve heard some criticisms about Grudem’s Systematics but not in detail. Definitely a good start in my opinion.

  2. JSaintM permalink
    03/14/2011 9:40 am

    So where are you planning to start? Going cover to cover or what?

    • stuartblessman permalink*
      03/14/2011 11:01 am

      Cover to cover was my idea. I haven’t really decided how to approach it. I may just read through and blog on a chapter or two here and there. Or maybe I should come up with some reading schedule or something…

      I need to sit down with that tome and thumb through it some more and come up with an idea. So far all I’ve read is the intro.

Leave a Reply

