Skip to content

Grammys 2011

02/13/2011
Arcade Fire The Suburbs

Arcade Fire The Suburbs

Historically I have enjoyed watching the Grammys. That hasn’t always been the case, but in the past few years, I’ve rarely missed a show. I’m still trying to decide if I’ll stay in and watch the Grammys tonight or go to volleyball like I normally do on Sunday nights…probably go to Volleyball with frequent Twitter breaks.

Growing up in Christian fundamentalism, modern music was frowned upon at best and outright condemned at worse; music videos in particular were the devil’s gateway drug to a life of sin for impressionable tabla rasa church youth. The Grammys were initially a way of being exposed to more music and specifically live performances. I especially loved cheering on as U2 won awards as they were “my band”, and for several years in a row they absolutely dominated (and deservedly so). This year, U2 isn’t nominated in any category, but there are still a few of my favorite bands up for awards.

Album of the Year

Album of the Year is a tough category this year, as there are three really good albums nominated: Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs, Eminem’s Recovery, and Lady Gaga’s The Fame Monster. I love Eminem and Lady Gaga but for entirely different reasons, and I’ve not been a fan of an entire album of Eminem’s music since the absolutely superb The Eminem Show, which is still easily one of my favorite rap albums or just favorite albums in general. Lady Gaga had several huge smash songs that I absolutely adored off of The Fame Monster, but as an album it didn’t grab me all that much. I’ve written before that I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Arcade Fire show at Roy Wilkins Auditorium in St. Paul (and I’m hoping to go see them in Chicago for my birthday!), plus The Suburbs, while not containing many notable singles or songs that stand out apart from the whole, is nonetheless an exceptional album.

So therefore I hope Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs wins Album of the Year at the 2011 Grammys.

Song of Year

“Forget You” by Cee-Lo Green hands down. The man is awesome, great sense of humor, and can sing like no other.

Best New Artist

Mumford and Sons. They had a huge impact although sadly mostly on the indie, hipster scene. They can only get better. And I want to see Justin Bieber going home crying like a girl.

Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals

“Telephone” by Lady Gaga and Beyonce. The song is just so much fun, catchy, and had a sweet music video.

Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals

This is the second biggest category to me next to Album or Record or Song of the Year, all categories that U2 typically dominates in. Thankfully for other artists, they are not nominated for anything, but that just makes this decision even harder. Why?

“Ready to Start” by Arcade Fire vs “Resistance” by Muse. I love both of these songs. I saw both bands perform their respective songs in 2010. They are two radically different songs for different reasons. I really can’t choose between these two songs. I want Arcade Fire to win big this night, so if they win Album of the Year, then please, let Best Rock Performance go to Muse. But if Arcade Fire loses Album of the Year…I just don’t know.

Here. Judge for yourself. Both are live performances, but the Muse video is studio audio.

And that’s it. That’s all I care about. I’ll be excited to see who wins either way, and I’ll enjoy catching up on YouTube afterwards.

Although none will be as good as the band that owns the room every time they perform. And they know it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JohnStM permalink
    02/13/2011 7:42 pm

    Muse hands down. I don’t see what’s so great about Arcade Fire. Am I missing something?

    • stuartblessman permalink*
      02/13/2011 11:32 pm

      Their albums have to grow on you, although when U2 used one of their songs for an opener, that helped me like them a lot. Then I went to see them and was just blown away. Hard to describe.

Leave a Reply

