Skip to content

Video Game Backlog

01/26/2011

Every gamer has a backlog. We can’t afford all of the awesome $60 video games as they come out, so we wait for them to reach a lower price, and then eventually you discover great 2 for 1 deals, and pretty soon, you are swimming in video games (videogames?). Because I don’t drop the $60 on the hot new title as it come out (*cough Dead Space 2 *cough)(*sob), am I still considered a hardcore gamer? Nah, probably not, but I’m happy not being a casual gamer.

Here is one picture of my backlog (note – these are just console games, not PC games, and not original Xbox games, as I have dozens I haven’t touched) –

 

videogame backlog

video game backlog

So what are we looking at here? Well…

• Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga (played the original a lot, so consider this half done)

• Battlefield Bad Company 2

• Call of Duty Black Ops (the single player at least needs to be beat, lvl 39 in multi)

• Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood (currently playing)

• Star Ocean The Last Hope

• Chrono Trigger DS (played a ROM of this for a few hours, but never beat it)

• Final Fantasy Tactics The War of the Lion

• Final Fantasy XII (I’m about 20 hours in, but after talking with Jo Garcia about it, I need to grind some more before I continue)

• Ys The Ark of Nephilim (about 8 hours in, possibly need to restart)

• Devil May Cry

• Resident Evil Remake (need to restart)

• Resident Evil Zero (need to restart, made it to Umbrella then went to bed)

• Metroid Prime (need to restart, the first game I got on my GameCube…so sad)

• Legend of Zelda Wind Waker (3/4 of the way done)

• Killer 7 (birthday gift from Jelani Brinson)

• Xenosaga Episode 1 (found this in a thift store for a buck)

first four years

Lego Harry Potter on Xbox

NOT PICTURED – All original Xbox and PC games, Legend of Zelda A Link to the Past (GBA), Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga (GBA), Castlevania Dracula X Chronicles (PSP – currently playing), and Golden Sun (GBA), and I guess Resident Evil 4 (Cube) since technically I’ve never beaten it, just played it a lot.

These don’t include the games I still want to pick up eventually, which can be seen on my Amazon Wish List. And there are games not on that list I still want to pick up, like the Gamecube version of Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess, Metroid Prime 2 and 3, a dozen or so games for the Wii…etc. Of the making of video games there is no end.

Does it look like I’ve spent a lot of money? Yeah, I guess it does. I know in the past I have been foolish with my resources, not saving up significantly and spending money whenever I feel it burning in my pocket. Yet not having much money the last few years has definitely taught me the value of stewardship and thriftness (why oh why did the hipsters have to take and ruin that word?!). I’ve learned delayed gratification the hard way. Most of the games on this list were gifts or purchased as much as 8 years ago, were given as gifts, or picked up in specials, deals, or dirt cheap used.

I’ve also learned to better management my time; most people are surprised to find out that a lot of my peers spend more time playing games than I do. If I were to estimate how many hours I spend playing video games in an average week, the answer is probably around 4-6 hours. Now, just like a good TV show on dvd or a good book, there are weeks where all I choose to do with my free time is play video games, and I’m sure I’m averaging 20-25 hours during those weeks. But one of the reasons I don’t consider myself a “hardcore gamer” is because I have other interests beyond video games; there are plenty of other great things to do out in the world that I’d rather be doing! I’d rather be spending time with my friends than play video games. Some days I’d rather be reading a good book than playing video games. In the future, I’d rather be in the gym more often, snowboarding more often, or practicing the guitar more often than playing a video game, because those things are fun too.

a lie from the pit of hell

God Hates Nerds

Chances are, any activity you suggest to me is something I’d rather be doing than playing video games. Even though many video games have a strong social component to them, I’d still rather be doing something social in a different context. But does that mean I’m willing to give up video games? No. I’ve been blessed to be able to play a lot of games in the past few years I wouldn’t normally have been given an opportunity to play, and I know I’m better off for it. A really good video game can rival any novel in terms of story, and any film in terms of experience. It’s a relatively recent medium, but those of us who have grown up with them known that the good should be considered amongst the best of media and art, while the bad are truly as horrible as they come. But that’s another blog post for another day.

I look forward to one day not being able to have time for video games because all my time is spent on others such as a wife and kids. And even more than that, I look forward to one day being able to share with my children all the wonderful video games, movies, novels, and music…all the experiences…that mean so much to me and will hopefully mean a lot to them as well.

How about you? What’s your video game backlog looking like?

Leave a Reply

