Skip to content

Zero Punctuation (NSFW)

01/19/2011
Zero Punctuation mocking Mario

Zero Punctuation mocking Mario

And now the blog post that will offend 99% of you all, which is a shame.

I love Zero Punctuation. It is one of the highlights of my week. What it is is a weekly animated video series drawn and narrated by a guy from British guy living in Australia named Yahtzee Crowshaw. The series is extremely NOT SAFE FOR WORK, frequently offensive, but painfully dead on. While he does have a reputation for hating most games that are made, he is nonetheless spot on with many of his critiques. Sometimes I disagree with him and think he’s taking cheap shots at extremely well made games, but I’m still laughing, so obviously it’s not all bad.

Warning – if you have an issue with profanity, or reality, don’t watch these videos. This guy nails one aspect of my humor, the sarcastic side that is extremely dark and realistic. I make no apology for this, but I understand it is not for everyone.

But, if you are one of the lucky few, enjoy!

Today’s Zero Punctuation video was a review of Fable 3. I played and beat this game over the Christmas/New Year’s time. My final impression was that while some elements were improved, overall the game felt like a few steps back. I enjoyed my time with it, and thought it had some excellent side quests, but none that couldn’t have been a part of Fable 2, which ultimately is a far superior game. Still, I’ve enjoyed watching the Fable universe grow, it does do an excellent job of showing a fictionalized Europe from dark age peasantry to the steam and exploration age. It feels like a real universe, and I admire that, especially when game from game you can see certain towns change from hamlets to industrial cities.

Notable Quotes –

“Fable is essentially facist.” “The two choices seem to be good (liberal, represented by Obama) and evil (bad, represented by George W. Bush).” “Then Fable 3 becomes a mix of Sim City and the Sword of Damacles.” “Why can’t we keep the evil policies until the big bad comes and goes?”

Favorite Zero Punctuation reviews –

Prince of Persia Trilogy – which are my favorite games from the PS2/Xbox/GameCube console generation

Resident Evil 5 – not as good as 4, but decent when playing co-op

Dragon Age: Origins
– Bioware are the kings of RPGs

and for fun…the game I’m currently playing, Darksiders! (“Like God of War, but…” The man has a way with words…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

