Skip to content

Tron Legacy

01/13/2011
Oliva Wilde is very very attractive

Quora as played by Olivia Wilde in Tron Legacy

One of my favorite movies of 2010 was Tron Legacy. I know this will be controversial, but so far I have found nothing wrong with that movie besides some wonky CGI at moments, which is forgivable. Tron Legacy makes the original Tron feel like The Phantom Menace compared to A New Hope.

I remember watching the first Tron when I was about 8 years old. I thought it was a pretty interesting movie for its time, but Tron never grabbed me like it did so many when it first came out. So I had some familiarity with the franchise, and could recognize any of the elements or names from it, but no big commitment to the film. I can’t say I was all that excited when they announced a new Tron, but when the first teaser trailer came out, I was instantly hooked. I swore I’d go see the movie on opening night, but school commitments prevented that from happening. The following week would have to suffice…

Obviously since I’m comparing Tron Legacy to Star Wars: A New Hope, I consider it to be a very, very good film. There is simply no element about the movie that does not work for me. The music? Amazing, and the soundtrack is still being played on my stereo frequently. The story? Classic, yet well done and hardly boring at all, which was a common complaint. Predictable? Sure, why not, but that’s not a problem to me; I’m sure everyone could predict that the Death Star was going to be blown up at the ending of Star Wars. The acting? I don’t think anyone sold in their performance, certainly not Jeff Bridges; he played the part of the perfect computer nerd loner that had been locked in a cell (essentially) for 20 years, of course he’s going to be a little out of it. The visuals? The art aesthetic was sublime. The 3D? Perfect for that type of film, and thank God they didn’t do any of that stupid “pop out” stuff like in other 3D films. This is the new 3D benchmark, surpassing Avatar in every way.

And Olivia Wilde? Absolutely gorgeous. Mmm…

There seems to be two types of people who have an opinion about Tron Legacy: those that loved the original Tron, and those who didn’t or never saw the original. It’s almost a generational debate. All of my peers who have gone to see the movie have raved about it; all of my older friends, especially those who list the original Tron up there with the Bible in terms of things that shaped their lives, hated it or thought it was merely ok. Unfortunately for us younger persons, the older fans of the original Tron are those in power, and so they shape the public perception of the film as being “ok” or “middle of the road”…6 or 8 out of 10. Those are the gatekeepers, the master control programs preventing us current users from shaping public opinion in our mind.

Of course they consider the original Tron better than Tron Legacy: that’s the film they have grown up with and allowed to steep in their minds. But, if we young folks are patient, and wait the older folks out, then they will all die eventually, and almost overnight our opinion will now become the de facto true opinion. Such is the way with most so-called wisdom in this world, or with standards of art and music and fashion.

The irony there, though, is that as soon as the previous generation dies out and the current generation takes charge, the next generation will be waiting for us to die as well. And the cycle repeats. “All this has happened before, and all this will happen again.”

Tron Legacy may well be my favorite movie of 2010, but it’s neck and neck with Scott Pilgrim vs The World. I don’t think it’s a perfect movie, or even possibly the best movie that came out last year, but it is probably my favorite. I am really looking forward to the sequel.

For more reading:

Could the Tron Legacy Sequel Be Right Around the Corner?

Watch Jeff Bridges Lose 28 Years – Making of Tron Legacy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/20/2011 1:10 pm

    Thanks for this post. I most assuredly agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so may perhaps this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  2. 01/26/2011 2:52 am

    you are my aspiration , I have few web logs and rarely run out from to post : (.

  3. 01/28/2011 5:18 am

    some really fantastic blog posts on this website , appreciate it for contribution.

Leave a Reply

