Skip to content

Graduate of the University of Minnesota

01/03/2011
Scientific and Technical Communication - Bachelor of Science

Graduate of the University of Minnesota

This afternoon I received the second to last piece proving that I am a graduate of the University of Minnesota: my pass/fail grade for my Internship. The only thing remaining before I can officially consider myself a graduate of the University of Minnesota with a Bachelor of Science in Scientific and Technical Communication and a minor in Communication Studies is the actual diploma itself.

About dang time!

It’s been a long road. I graduated high school in 2003, went to community college the following semester, and through a combination of life change and working full-time, I eventually graduated with an Associate of Arts in 2006. Then I took a year off to work at Costco, before being accepted at the University of Minnesota in the Fall of 2007. At first I was unsure of which major to take, and took a wide variety of classes, many of which ended up paying off toward my final degree. I spent a significant amount of time pursuing admittance into the School of Journalism, but low grades led to me not being admitted. I immediately began pursuing a degree in Communication Studies before discovering the recently created Scientific and Technical Communication degree (it had existed previously in a different form in a now defunct department) and used my previous credits to get the Minor in Comm Studies.

So it’s been a long road.

What’s next? For now, I want to work. However, in the next four to five years, I would like to earn my Masters. In what? I’m not certain just yet. Debating a Masters in Theology…I think I would love to be a teacher of theology and the Bible. Just not sure how well it would pay the bills.

Hopefully this will be the last blog post in a while that is purely about me. I’ve been working on some other blog posts that should be more interesting.

It’s just…you know…awesome that today I found out that I (essentially) graduated!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grant permalink
    01/10/2011 1:38 am

    congrats on the graduation bud. It’s been a long road indeed but one that i am glad i had the opportunity to share the road with you for a while. All the best to you for the next step.

Leave a Reply

